• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 GC

GC

PAC Junkie

• Charter Member
  • 2,189 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 05:41 PM

I am relatively new to the use of artificial lures.

What I'm wondering, is the importance  of the type of knot used to attach the lure?

I'm not concerned so much with the strength of the knot, but rather how the knot affects the presentation of the lure. I predominantly use the improved clinch knot for tying hooks to my line. This knot has served me well, but I was wondering if a loop type knot would be better for certain artificial lures in regards to their presentation?

Am I  overthinking things?

#2 Doc Watson

Doc Watson

PAC Junkie

• Charter Member
  • 2,134 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 11:03 PM

I usually use a palomar to tie all my lures.  But I often fish with Rapala lures and sometimes use "their" knot.

#3 Tom

Tom

PAC Junkie

• Charter Member
  • 2,950 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 06:47 AM

Yes, the loop knot that Rapala has in their stickbait boxes is really good for stickbaits and other floating lures. I use it for most of my topwaters as the loop helps create more action, especially side to side.

Otherwise I generally stick with a palomar or improved clinch. I have been using albright  knows for connecting line to line, but will hopefully field test using two improved clinches to do the same this coming weekend.

#4 GC

GC

PAC Junkie

• Charter Member
  • 2,189 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 06:57 AM

Tom and Doc... thanks for the specific feedback... I will begin tying the Rapala Knot for certain lures. How about jigs? Is a loop type knot warranted for jig fishing? I appreciate your advice.

#5 matt

matt

knot conquistador

• Admin
  • 1,949 posts
  • LocationUp the street from the knot!

Posted 10 July 2013 - 08:30 AM

I use a palomar 99% of the time. The rapala knot is definitely useful for floating plugs that need that extra freedom of movement, and I should probably use it more often.

#6 GC

GC