• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 GC

GC

PAC Junkie

• Charter Member
  • 2,189 posts

Posted 19 June 2015 - 08:50 AM

I am relatively new to bass fishing. The areas I generally fish are the tidal Delaware estuaries. The tidal largemouth are not lunkers (at least the ones I catch), but the bigger ones do put up a lively acrobatic fight. I've been fortunate to catch some decent tidal largemouth over the past few weeks. Decent for me is a largemouth in the 2- 3 pound range.

Three of the last five largemouth exhibited "Blotchy Bass Syndrome." This condition has been documented by state fish biologists...

https://www.fish.sta.../bass-spots.htm

The fish appear perfectly healthy, but do have significant black blotches scattered over different areas of their body. As the article linked above mentions, it appears as if it is just larger concentrations of melanin in the black blotchy areas.

I've included a photo below as an example of one that I recently caught. I apologize for the quality of the photo, but I have a difficult time when I'm in the yak. On this fish the blotchy areas were concentrated around the dorsal fin. Most blotches are irregular and approximately the size of a quarter.

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this phenomena with bass they've caught?

Attached Thumbnails

• BlotchyBass.jpg

#2 JGPHILLY

JGPHILLY

PAC Lurker

• Club Member
  • 83 posts
  • LocationPhilly

Posted 20 June 2015 - 08:53 AM

Interesting. I've been almost strictly bass fishing this year and yet to see one with any blotches.

I wonder if it's something in the water or there diet that causes it.

I have on the other hand caught a few bass with lumps on there jaws and hole near their fins. I can't imagine that being a good sign for the fish.

#3 ILoveFishing

ILoveFishing

PAC Regular

• Club Member
  • 912 posts

Posted 20 June 2015 - 11:22 AM